MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE – write down what really excites you

Imagine you have plenty of time and don’t need to worry about money. Now write down 15 goals (things to have / be / do) for the next 12 months; 1 condition: they all need to be things that excite you! Really, really, really, really excite you!

You would not believe how hard it is. I have been working on this for about 2 weeks and still I can only come up with 10. Is this just me or am I one of those people who Tim Ferris calls “people who have problems filling the void”. In his amazing book “the 4 hour work week” he sets this challenge.

Don’t write down that you want to clean the windows and tidy up the garden. No!

The kind of exciting I mean is the glow in kids eyes when they talk about becoming an astronaut, doctor, fireman, vet, musician, magician…they jump up and down while telling you about this and cant stop talking. I mean the “heart rate goes up, adrenaline rush, sends shivers down your spine, sweaty palms” excitement.

See the sample dreamline and dreamline worksheet on Tim’s blog (scroll down to chapter 4) and try it for yourself.

I cannot remember what I said as a kid I wanted to be when I grow up. It makes me sad. I have a hard time coming up with a list of things that really, really excite me. I don’t know why that is. I only know that to be happy we all need things in our life that excite us. These are the things that make us feel a sense of purpose and achievement.

Now, what really surprised me is that 50% of what I wrote down on my list of exciting things actually does not cost any money at all! It is simple stuff that makes me happy. That’s been the biggest learning for me and well worth the effort of sitting down and writing the list in the first place.

So, as a kid what did you want to be when you grow up?

What would be on your list of things that really, really, really, really excite you?

Leave a Reply

