How to become a master questioner like Einstein – Question week 2016

It is said that Albert Einstein was the Master Questioner! What a great title! I’d like people to call me that. As usual, practice is required to become a master in anything.

It is “Question Week 2016” from 13-19 March (coinciding with Einstein’s birthday that week). A number of organizations are partnering for this initiative to get schools, students, businesses, families and individuals involved in questioning exercises and activities (e.g. Warren Berger – A more beautiful question, The Right Question Institute, Bob Tiede – Leading with Questions). The purpose is to practice asking better questions. QuestionWeek.com provides guidance and tips on possible questioning exercises or activities. Everyone can share the exercises and outcomes on social media (Twitter and Facebook – #QuestionWeek).

I have no choice, I can’t help myself, I MUST GET INVOLVED!

What a fantastic initiative!

Have a look at QuestionWeek.com to find some great exercises for students, families, companies or yourself, e.g. The Question Formulation Technique; a “Question-storming” session;  “10 Questions in 10 minutes”; overcome big fears; WonderWalls and “Question of the day” bulletin boards; “Why / What if / How”; “Mission Question”; get pesky little things done.

Here is how I will get involved:

  • Try out 1 new questioning technique each day next week. I will start with a “Question-storming” session instead of a brainstorming session
  • Come up with 1 (hopefully) great question each day and share it via social media
  • Try to invent a new questioning technique or exercise and share it
  • Summarize my experience from question week and share it in my next post
  • Find opportunities to apply the “Why / What if / How” technique to make quicker progress in my projects at work
  • I want to ask friends, family and colleagues to share their favorite question with me
  • I’d like to try and help someone by asking questions instead of telling them what to do
  • I will print off the above list immediately and pin it next to my computer screen so I have a daily reminder to do all these things

How will you get involved in Question Week 2016?

Closing this post with some inspiring Einstein quotes:

  • I have no special talent. I am only passionately curious.
  • Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. The important thing is not to stop questioning.
  • We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.
  • To raise new questions, new possibilities, to regard old problems from a new angle, requires creative imagination and marks real advance in science.
  • Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new.
  • If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough.
  • It’s not that I’m so smart, it’s just that I stay with problems longer.
  • It is a miracle that curiosity survives formal education.

 

Leave a Reply

